Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Computer Science at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln: Entrance Requirements for the College of Engineering School of Computing BS in Computer Science, Professional Admission after the Sophomore Year and Nine Focus Areas, with Requirements and Timeline for Chinese and Canadian High School Students and Transfer Students

How to Apply to Computer Science at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln: Entrance Requirements for the College of Engineering School of Computing BS in Computer Science, Professional Admission after the Sophomore Year and Nine Focus Areas, with Requirements and Timeline for Chinese and Canadian High School Students and Transfer Students

2026-10-18 · Application guides

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln BS in Computer Science is offered by the School of Computing in the College of Engineering, accredited by ABET, requires 120 credit hours and offers nine focus areas. Entry to the College of Engineering requires the high school coursework plus one of ACT 24, SAT 1180, a math subscore or a 3.5 GPA; Professional Admission to the major is done automatically at the end of the sophomore year for students with a C or better in Data Structures and Algorithms and a 2.5 GPA. For fall 2027, international applicants have a 1 November priority deadline and a 1 May final deadline, with IELTS 6.5 required. The estimated annual cost for international students is USD 53,922, and they are automatically considered for scholarships of up to USD 15,000 a year. Based on UNL’s official information, this guide covers admission, curriculum, English, transfer, costs and a checklist.

At the University of Nebraska–Lincoln (UNL), undergraduate computer science is the BS in Computer Science offered by the School of Computing in the College of Engineering. Here is what you need to know, based on UNL’s website, for students at high schools in China (including A-level, IB and AP students), students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver students), and transfer students.

1. Getting into the major

  • College of Engineering first: you must meet both university and College of Engineering entrance requirements (section 3).
  • Professional Admission after the sophomore year: the catalog says that after admission to the college, students who want computer science go through Professional Admission, done automatically for qualifying students at the end of the sophomore year. You need a P or C or above in CSCE 310 Data Structures and Algorithms (or RAIK 283H) and a GPA of at least 2.5 (semester and cumulative). Students whose cumulative GPA drops below 2.4 may be placed on restricted status, removed from the college and may not be able to graduate.
  • If not admitted to Engineering: the catalog says domestic first-year students admitted to UNL but not to Engineering are reviewed by the College Review Committee; those not admitted through review go to Pre-Engineering in the Explore Center and can transfer once they meet the requirements. Whether international first-year students also receive College Review is not stated; check with admissions.
  • Raikes School: UNL also has the Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management honors program; for fall 2027 the application deadline is 15 November.

2. Curriculum (2026-2027 catalog)

  • Accreditation and credits: the BS in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET; the major page lists 120 credit hours. The School of Computing also offers computer engineering, software engineering and data science.
  • Introductory courses: Computer Science I comes in four versions (CSCE 155A for computer science majors, plus honors, systems engineering and informatics versions), followed by Computer Science II.
  • Core (24 credits): Computer Science I and II, Computer Systems Engineering, Discrete Structures, Unix Programming Environment, Data Structures and Algorithms, Programming Language Concepts, Software Engineering and the School of Computing introductory seminar.
  • Depth courses (12 credits): System Resource Management or Operating Systems Principles, Data Analysis, Design and Analysis of Algorithms or Automata, Computation and Formal Languages, plus one course from a list in AI, networking, cybersecurity, robotics and related areas.
  • Technical electives (9–11 credits) from 300- and 400-level CSCE courses. The nine focus areas listed are artificial intelligence; computer architecture and high-performance computing; cybersecurity; data science and informatics; foundations of computer science; IoT, robotics and embedded systems; networking; software engineering; and user-centered computing. Focus areas guide course choice with your advisor.
  • Senior Design (6 credits): a full academic year on a team project for an industry or faculty sponsor.
  • Accelerated master’s: computer science, computer engineering and software engineering majors can earn a master’s degree in computer science or computer engineering in less than two years.

3. College of Engineering entrance requirements

  • High school units (16 in total; one unit is one year): mathematics 4 (2 algebra, 1 geometry, 1 precalculus and trigonometry), English 4, natural sciences 3 (including 1 physics and 1 chemistry; chemistry is waived for computer science), 2 units of a single foreign language, social studies 3.
  • Performance standard (one of): composite ACT 24, SAT 1180, ACT math 24, SAT math 580, or a 3.5 cumulative GPA.
  • Exception: a composite ACT of 28 or higher (or equivalent SAT) admits you to Engineering even if you lack one of trigonometry, chemistry or physics. Students without test scores who are missing those units are evaluated through College Review.
  • Tests: the international requirements page says ACT and SAT are not required for general admission but may be required for the College of Engineering.

4. International dates and materials

  • Application: international first-year students use the Common App or Nebraska’s application; the fee is USD 45.
  • Fall 2027: the application opens on 1 August; the priority deadline is 1 November (scholarship offers on 11 February for those who apply by then); the final deadline and enrolment deposit are due on 1 May 2027; English scores are due by 15 July. Late applications may be waitlisted.
  • Spring 2027: final deadline 1 December.
  • Documents: a final secondary school transcript signed and stamped by a principal, the secondary school certificate or diploma, and English scores. International core coursework is 4 units of upper-level mathematics, 3 of natural sciences, 3 of social sciences and 4 of English and native language; Engineering adds the requirements in section 3.
  • Visa funding: an I-20 requires a bank statement of at least USD 53,922, which may include scholarships.

5. English requirements

  • TOEFL iBT: new scale 4.0 (4.0 subscores); old scale 79 (18 subscores) for general admission and 80 for the College of Engineering.
  • IELTS: 6.5 (6.0 subscores) for general admission and Engineering.
  • Duolingo: 110 (105 subscores) for general admission; the table does not list Engineering, so check with admissions.
  • Other: ACT English 20 for general admission and 22 for Engineering; the Nebraska English Language Test (ELT) 80 for Engineering.
  • Waivers apply only to graduates of a US high school or students with 30 transferable semester hours from a US college or community college.
  • Not meeting proficiency: you enrol in the Nebraska Intensive English Program (IEP) with conditional admission, reviewed each semester for full admission.

6. Students at high schools in China

  • Requirements: specific requirements for Chinese students are not published; you must meet the international core coursework and Engineering coursework and performance standards.
  • Gaokao: UNL does not mention the Gaokao; how it is used is not published, so check with UNL admissions (admissions@unl.edu).
  • A-levels and IB: UNL awards transfer credit using its IB Credit Evaluation Table and A Level Scores Table.
  • AP: the AP credit policy was not checked for this guide.
  • English: graduates of Chinese high schools need an English score, such as IELTS 6.5 (6.0 subscores) or TOEFL 4.0 (new scale).

7. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver)

  • Requirements: specific Canadian or BC requirements are not published; you are assessed on the international core coursework and Engineering standards, such as a 3.5 GPA or qualifying ACT/SAT.
  • English: the only waivers are a US high school diploma or 30 US college credits, so international students at Canadian high schools are, as written, also expected to submit English scores; confirm with admissions if in doubt.

8. Transfer students

  • Into Engineering: meet the College of Engineering first-year entrance requirements, a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5, and be calculus-ready; otherwise start in the Explore Center or another college.
  • Credit: courses from outside the NU system transfer to Engineering only with a C or better.
  • International transfer students apply through Nebraska’s application; those at US institutions must transfer their SEVIS record.

9. Costs and scholarships

  • International undergraduate estimate (no year stated; updated each July): tuition and fees USD 31,942, housing and food USD 13,950, health insurance USD 4,578, plus books, transport and personal expenses, for a total of USD 53,922.
  • Differential tuition: College of Engineering courses carry differential tuition; the amount is not published.
  • Scholarships: international students are automatically considered for up to USD 15,000 a year when admitted; submit all materials by 1 May to be considered for academic scholarships.

Checklist

Students at high schools in China:

  • Apply through the Common App or Nebraska’s application by 1 November 2026 (priority; scholarship offers on 11 February), final deadline 1 May 2027
  • Four years of mathematics (including precalculus and trigonometry) and physics; meet one of ACT 24, SAT 1180, a math subscore or a 3.5 GPA
  • IELTS 6.5 (6.0 subscores) or TOEFL 4.0 (new scale) by 15 July

Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):

  • Meet the same Engineering coursework and performance standards; prepare English scores as the website requires

Transfer students:

  • A cumulative GPA of 2.5+, calculus-ready; outside courses need a C or better to transfer to Engineering

Sources: University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Computer Science major; School of Computing undergraduate; Focus areas; 2026-2027 Catalog: Computer Science; International students; International admission requirements; International dates and deadlines; Cost. Dates are for fall 2027 entry; the cost page does not state a year. Check UNL’s website for the latest.

Related articles