Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Computer Science at Florida International University: The BS and BA in the Knight Foundation School of Computing and Information Sciences, Placing into Calculus I, and Requirements and Timeline for Chinese and Canadian High School Students and Transfer Students

How to Apply to Computer Science at Florida International University: The BS and BA in the Knight Foundation School of Computing and Information Sciences, Placing into Calculus I, and Requirements and Timeline for Chinese and Canadian High School Students and Transfer Students

2026-10-18 · Application guides

At Florida International University (FIU), computer science is offered by the Knight Foundation School of Computing and Information Sciences in the College of Engineering & Computing, as an ABET-accredited BS and a BA, each 120 credits. To major in the BS, incoming students must place into Calculus I; those who do not are admitted to the BA. All first-year applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores; for fall 2027, Early Action closes on 2 November 2026. Out-of-state tuition is USD 618.87 per credit. Based on FIU’s official information, this guide covers admission to the major, the two degrees, deadlines, requirements for Chinese and Canadian students, transfer, costs and a checklist.

At Florida International University (FIU) in Miami, undergraduate computer science is taught by the Knight Foundation School of Computing and Information Sciences in the College of Engineering & Computing, which offers a BS in Computer Science and a BA in Computer Science. Here is what you need to know for fall 2027 entry, based on FIU’s website, for students at high schools in China, students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver students), and transfer students.

1. Getting into computer science

  • Calculus placement: the college says that in addition to FIU’s general admission requirements, it has program-specific admission and math placement requirements. To major in the BS in Computer Science, incoming students must place into MAC 2311 (Calculus I) or higher.
  • If you do not place into Calculus I: students who want the BS but do not place into Calculus I are admitted to the BA in Computer Science and must also have at least a 2.0 GPA. For several engineering majors, students who do not place into Calculus I start in the STEP pathway and declare after completing Calculus I; the page does not say how BA students can later move to the BS.
  • Accreditation: the BS in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

2. The two degrees and curriculum

  • BS: 120 credits over four years of full-time study, emphasising the mathematical and theoretical foundations of computing, with advanced math and science such as calculus and calculus-based physics. There is a junior capstone and a senior capstone, in which teams of up to five build faculty-supervised projects.
  • BS tracks: the Computer Science Track, for students planning graduate study, with accelerated pathways to the MS in Computer Science or MS in Engineering Management; and the Software Design and Development Track, for students heading into software engineering.
  • BA: 120 credits; the highest math required is pre-calculus and statistics, with no calculus, calculus-based physics or senior project, leaving room to combine computing with business, digital media, health technology and other areas. It is also available fully online.
  • Course details: requirements and prerequisites are in the University Catalog, whose requirements view loads by script and was not checked for this guide. See the FIU catalog and the college’s degree flowcharts.

3. First-year application and deadlines

  • Application: through the Common App, with a USD 30 fee.
  • Testing: all first-year applicants, including international students, must submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores. The international freshman page says decisions are based on GPA combined with SAT, ACT or CLT scores.
  • Fall 2027 deadlines (the same for “Early Fall”, which starts in summer):
    • Early Action: complete application by 2 November 2026, decisions by 10 December;
    • All first-year applicants: complete application by 16 December 2026, decisions by 21 January 2027;
    • Final deadline: complete application by 2 March 2027, last decisions by 2 April;
    • deposit due by 1 May 2027.
  • AP and IB scores: must be sent by the testing agency; AP scores must be 3 or higher, and scores received after the deadline are not considered.
  • Entry term: FIU admits students to the term that best fits their profile, so a fall applicant may be offered another term.

4. Students at high schools in China

  • Testing: SAT, ACT or CLT is required. Whether the Gaokao can be used instead is not published.
  • English, stated differently: the international freshman page says first-time-in-college international students do not need TOEFL or IELTS for direct admission and must meet the Florida Board of Governors college-readiness requirement through SAT or ACT reading and English sub-scores; the freshman application page says international students must submit English proficiency exams, and the international FAQ says TOEFL or IELTS “if necessary”. Both are given here; confirm with international admissions.
  • Transcripts: sent electronically by the school, with an official translation if not in English.
  • A-levels and IB: admission requirements are not published.
  • Pathway: international students wanting extra academic and language support can apply to FIU’s Global First Year program.

5. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver)

  • Apply as an international freshman; SAT, ACT or CLT is also required.
  • The international transfer page lists “Canada (except Quebec)” among English-proficiency-exempt countries; whether this applies to first-years is not stated.
  • Grade requirements for Canadian or BC curricula are not published.

6. Transfer students

  • Materials: with 12–29 transferable credits, submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores and your high school transcript; with 30 or more and a C or higher in ENC 1101 (or equivalent) and a college-level math course, neither is required.
  • Credit limit: up to 90 credits (60 lower division and 30 upper division at the department’s discretion).
  • Coursework outside the US: requires a course-by-course evaluation with GPA from a NACES member, sent directly to FIU.
  • English for international transfers: TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale (80 for tests before 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, or ENC 1101 with a C or better at a US accredited institution, among others; students with fewer than 60 credits must meet the Florida Board of Governors language requirements.
  • Deadlines: domestic transfer for fall 2027 closes on 8 July; the international transfer table still shows 2026 dates (2 June for fall 2026), and 2027 dates are not published.
  • Any additional prerequisites for transfer into Computer Science were not checked; see the catalog.

7. Tuition and scholarships

  • Tuition: the international tuition page lists USD 618.87 per credit for out-of-state students, 18,566.10 for 30 credits, and 18,964.75 for fall and spring including athletic, health, parking and ID fees. The table does not state an academic year and excludes housing and living costs.
  • First-year merit scholarships: F-1 international students are eligible, and a complete application (with SAT, ACT or CLT) is reviewed automatically; funding is limited. Gold and Blue Scholarships for non-Florida residents total USD 4,000 to 24,000 over four years, with a deadline of 16 December 2026. The scholarships page labels this cycle “Early Fall/Fall 2026” while giving November and December 2026 dates; confirm with the scholarships office.
  • Out-of-state tuition waiver: awarded as a reduction of out-of-state tuition, also requiring a complete application by 16 December 2026.

Checklist

Students at high schools in China:

  • Complete your Common App by 2 November 2026 (Early Action) or 16 December, which is also the scholarship deadline
  • Submit SAT, ACT or CLT; confirm English requirements with international admissions
  • For the BS, be ready to place into Calculus I on entry

Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):

  • SAT, ACT or CLT is also required; confirm whether the English exemption applies to first-years

Transfer students:

  • With 30+ credits and ENC 1101 and college math at C or better, no test scores are needed; non-US coursework needs a NACES course-by-course evaluation

Sources: Florida International University, BS in Computer Science; BA in Computer Science; Calculus requirements; Accreditation; University Catalog; College international students page; Freshman application and deadlines; International freshmen; International FAQ; International tuition and scholarships; Scholarships; Transfer application; International transfer. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry; the tuition table does not state an academic year. Check FIU for the latest.

Related articles