Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Computer Science at The University of Texas at Tyler: the BS with 47 Hours of CS and 34 Hours of Support Courses, C-or-Better Transfer Prerequisites, Top-25% Automatic Admission or GPA 2.75 for International Students, TOEFL 79 and Deadlines for Students from China, Canada and Transfer Students

How to Apply to Computer Science at The University of Texas at Tyler: the BS with 47 Hours of CS and 34 Hours of Support Courses, C-or-Better Transfer Prerequisites, Top-25% Automatic Admission or GPA 2.75 for International Students, TOEFL 79 and Deadlines for Students from China, Canada and Transfer Students

2026-10-19 · Application guides

UT Tyler’s BS in Computer Science requires 47 hours of computer science (33 upper-division) and 34 hours of math, science and other support courses, all with a C or better; students can build a specialization in computer security, UNIX, artificial intelligence or programming languages. International applicants in the top 25% of their class are admitted automatically; others need a 2.75 GPA. Students apply on ApplyTexas with a USD 75 fee; the fall deadline for students outside the U.S. is May 31. English minimums are TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 105. The 2026-27 out-of-state on-campus estimate is USD 44,998.

The University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler) is in Tyler, Texas. Its computer science bachelor’s is offered by the Department of Computer Science. The department’s pages sit in the engineering section of the university website, but the department contact email and the 2019-2020 degree plan are under the Soules College of Business; check the catalog for the current college. This guide draws on UT Tyler’s official website and is written for students at high schools in China (including A-Level, IB and AP students), students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver) and transfer students.

1. Program overview

  • Degree: BS in Computer Science. The program page says students can develop a specialization in computer security, UNIX, artificial intelligence or computer programming languages.
  • Hands-on work: a capstone project, the annual UT Tyler Patriot Games Cyber Defense Competition and internships with area employers; the Data Analytics Lab gives access to Texas Advanced Computing Center resources.
  • Teaching: students can also earn a secondary teacher certification in computer science.
  • Accreditation: the pages we read do not mention ABET; not published, ask the department.
  • Graduate study: UT Tyler offers a master’s in computer science, which the program page mentions as a next step.

2. Curriculum (department graduation requirements)

  • Computer science: 47 hours, including 33 upper-division hours with at least 18 completed at UT Tyler; a 2.0 GPA and a C or better in all upper-division CS courses attempted.
  • Required CS courses: Programming Fundamentals (COSC 1336), The Object-Oriented Paradigm (COSC 1337), Computer Organization (COSC 2315), Data Structures and Algorithms (COSC 2336), Social and Professional Issues (COSC 3315), Algorithm Design and Analysis (COSC 3325), Operating Systems (COSC 3355), Computer Architecture (COSC 3345), Database Management Concepts (COSC 4385), Net-Centric Computing (COSC 4360), Information Knowledge and Management (COSC 4315), Software Development (COSC 4336) and Capstone Project (COSC 4395), plus 12 hours of approved upper-division COSC electives.
  • 34 hours of support courses, each with a C or better: Calculus I and II (MATH 2413, 2414), Discrete Structures (MATH 2330), Probability and Statistics for Engineers (MATH 3351), Matrix Methods (MATH 3203) and Information and Communication Techniques (MANA 3370); a two-semester lab sequence in physics, chemistry or biology; a 3-hour science or math elective; an additional 4-hour physical science and lab elective; and 6 hours of electives in supporting disciplines (at least 3 upper-division).
  • Total hours: not stated on the current pages; the 2019-2020 degree plan lists 120 hours (an older version; follow the current catalog).

3. Admission: direct to the major or declare later?

  • The CS admission page only says an advisor is assigned once a student is admitted to the major. It gives no separate entry requirement and no conditions for changing into CS; not published, ask the department.
  • University admission (same on the international and first-year pages): top 25% of the class are admitted automatically; the 2nd to 4th quartiles need a 2.75 GPA; schools that do not rank need a 2.75 GPA. The first-year page adds that top-25% automatic admission is subject to an enrollment limit and is valid only up to two years after high school graduation.
  • Tests: the first-year page asks for ACT/SAT scores if available; the international page still says ACT/SAT are not required for 2022-2023 and 2023-2024, which is out of date. Confirm the current policy with admissions.

4. Applying and deadlines

  • Platform: the international page says to use the International Undergraduate Freshman Application on ApplyTexas, opening August 1; the first-year page says ApplyTexas or Common App, opening July 1. The two opening dates differ.
  • Application fee: USD 75 for international applicants (USD 60 for others), non-refundable.
  • International undergraduate deadlines (no year shown):
    • Outside the U.S.: fall May 31, spring October 31, summer February 28.
    • Already in the U.S.: fall June 30, spring November 30, summer March 30.
  • Transcripts: transcripts from outside the U.S. must be translated if needed and have a course-by-course evaluation with a GPA from a listed agency such as WES, The Evaluation Company (formerly SpanTran), SDR, GCE, IERF, JSA or IEE.

5. English requirements

  • Undergraduate minimums: TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, PTE 53 or Duolingo 105. Graduates of U.S. high schools are exempt.
  • Country exemptions: the exemptions section of the international page lists Canada (except Quebec) among countries whose applicants are exempt from TOEFL or IELTS, confirmed by official transcripts. The section follows the graduate English requirements and does not say whether it also covers undergraduates; confirm with admissions. China is not listed.

6. Students at high schools in China

  • Gaokao: whether and how Gaokao scores are used is not published; contact international admissions (internationaladmissions@uttyler.edu).
  • GPA: the international page says applicants from schools that do not rank need a 2.75 GPA; transcripts from outside the U.S. need a course-by-course evaluation with a GPA.
  • A-Level, IB and AP credit: not stated on the pages we read; not published.

7. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC)

  • BC grades: score requirements for BC courses are not published; all foreign transcripts need a course-by-course evaluation and are reviewed on the evaluated GPA.
  • English: Canada (except Quebec) is on the exemption list; confirm with admissions that it applies to undergraduates.

8. Transfer students

  • Who counts as a transfer: 30 completed college hours and a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0; under 30 hours, apply as an international freshman. The international transfer fee is USD 75.
  • CS transfer prerequisites (each with a C or better, Texas Common Course Numbers): Programming Fundamentals I, II and III (COSC 1336, 1337, 2336), Computer Organization (COSC 2325), Calculus I and II (MATH 2413, 2414) and Discrete Mathematics (MATH 2305). A two-semester sequence in University Physics, General Chemistry or General Biology is recommended; introductory courses are not accepted.
  • Transfer Presidential Scholarship: USD 2,000 for students with 30 completed hours and a 3.0 GPA at admission; May 1 deadline; renewable for one year.

9. Costs and scholarships

  • 2026-2027 out-of-state on-campus estimate (15 hours per semester): state tuition USD 14,214, board tuition USD 8,466, fees USD 2,504, housing and food USD 13,756, books USD 2,920, transportation USD 1,424, personal USD 1,628 and loan fees USD 86, for a total of USD 44,998. The cost page does not list international students separately.
  • International freshman scholarships (the page is labeled 2022-2023; confirm current criteria with admissions):
    • Honors Scholars: USD 10,000, high school GPA 3.75+, application and documents by December 1, interview for selected students, residence in the Honors Living Learning Community.
    • Patriot Scholarship: USD 1,000–5,000, high school GPA 3.5+, priority December 1, final deadline March 1.
    • Academic Excellence: USD 2,000; international students need a high school GPA of at least 3.5; no separate application; first come, first served.
  • Scholarship recipients must confirm attendance by May 1. The first-year page lists December 1 as the application deadline for scholarship eligibility.

Checklist

Students at high schools in China:

  • Apply by December 1 for scholarships; fall deadline May 31
  • Get a course-by-course evaluation with a 2.75+ GPA; TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 105
  • Confirm Gaokao use and ABET accreditation with the university

Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):

  • Get a course-by-course evaluation; confirm the Canadian English exemption applies to undergraduates

Transfer students:

  • 30 hours and GPA 2.0; complete Programming I–III, Computer Organization, Calculus I–II and Discrete Mathematics, each with a C or better

Sources: The University of Texas at Tyler, Computer Science program page; Department undergraduate page; BS Computer Science admission; BS Computer Science graduation requirements; 2019-2020 degree plan; International applicants; First-year applicants; International scholarships; 2026-2027 cost of attendance. The deadline pages show no year; check UT Tyler’s website for the latest.

Related articles