How to apply to Computer Science at Troy University: the 120-hour BS degree map in the College of Science and Engineering, on campus or online, international materials, English requirements, 2026-27 costs and the International Trojan Opportunity scholarship, and requirements for students in China, Canada and transfer applicants
Troy University (TROY) offers a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science through the Department of Computer Science in the College of Science and Engineering. The 2025-2026 degree map totals 120 hours, and the degree can be taken on the Troy Campus, online or hybrid. The program page lists no application deadline and marks the program as available to international students. International applicants submit grade 10–12 transcripts and the diploma, financial documents and English scores: TOEFL 3.5 (61 on the old scale), IELTS 5.5 or Duolingo 95, with Canada (except Quebec) exempt. The 2026-27 international undergraduate estimate is USD 37,254, or USD 27,322 after the International Trojan Opportunity scholarship.
Troy University (TROY) is in Troy, Alabama. Its Bachelor of Science in Computer Science is offered by the Department of Computer Science in the College of Science and Engineering. This guide summarizes the official requirements for students at high schools in China (including A-Level, IB and AP students), students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver) and transfer students.
1. Degree and courses
- Delivery: the program page says the degree can be earned in person on the Troy Campus, online through TROY Online or in a hybrid format, with the same curriculum and degree. TROY also offers it at partner campuses in Vietnam. The page marks the program as available for international students.
- Hours: the 2025-2026 degree map (dated April 13, 2026) totals 120 hours. It notes that at least 25% of the hours must be completed in residence, at least 12 hours in each major field must be taken at TROY, and graduation requires a 2.0 GPA overall and in the major.
- Computer science courses: Computer Science I and II (CS 2250, 2255), Foundations of Computer Science, Data Structures, Analysis of Algorithms, Software Engineering I, Concepts of Object Oriented Programming I, Introduction to Computer Organization and Architecture, Nature of Programming Languages, Formal Languages and the Theory of Computation, Introduction to Database Systems, Data Communication and Networking, and Operating Systems; plus two of Business Systems Programming, Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence, Introduction to Machine Learning, Web Application Development, Systems Analysis and Design, Computer Security, and Special Topics.
- Math and science: Calculus I (C or better), Calculus II, Numerical Methods in Computing, Applied Discrete Mathematics, Introductory Statistics, and General Physics or Physics with Calculus with lab.
- Math starting point: the degree map lists MTH 1112 and MTH 1114 as departmental recommendations for free electives because they are prerequisites for Calculus I; the map places them in the first year and Calculus I in the second. It notes that some developmental or prerequisite courses are not shown.
- Programming background: the program page says no prior programming experience is needed, as introductory courses are included. Courses use languages such as C++, Java or Python.
- Internships: the program page says the department helps students find internships and names organizations such as Medicare, CGI, Alfa Insurance and the IRS.
- ABET: the program page, department page and degree map we read do not mention ABET accreditation, so this is not published.
2. How admission works
- The international admissions page lists university-wide materials and does not give a separate threshold for computer science or conditions for switching into it; both are not published, so check with the Department of Computer Science.
- Testing: the freshman section of the undergraduate admissions page says students beginning classes in 2027 can be admitted without ACT or SAT scores, with a 3.0 GPA for unconditional and 2.5 for conditional admission; it does not separate domestic and international students. The international page does not give a GPA requirement for international applicants, so ask international admissions. International applicants send SAT or ACT scores electronically with school code 1738.
3. Dates and materials
- Deadline: the computer science program page lists the application deadline as “None.” The international admissions page lists no deadline; leave time for the visa process and confirm with international admissions.
- Application fee: the international pages we read do not state the fee, so it is not published.
- Materials: the international application; official transcripts for grades 10–12; the high school diploma (students in their last semester can submit a letter of good standing or transcripts without the final semester’s grades); an original bank statement issued within the last six months from a personal checking or savings account; a signed sponsor letter if the account is not in the applicant’s name; English scores; and a passport page valid for at least six months beyond the enrollment date.
- Documents must be in the original language with an English translation if needed, as PDFs for initial review; institutions can also send official credentials to intltranscripts@troy.edu. Originals are checked on arrival.
4. English requirements
- Undergraduate minimums (one of): TOEFL 3.5 (61 on the old scale), IELTS 5.5, Duolingo 95, PTE 46, iTEP 3.5, Michigan English Test (MET) 51 or Oxford ELLT 6; the page also lists “Cambridge A/AS score of at least a C1.”
- Applicants can submit a PDF of their scores, which TROY verifies with the testing agency; letters about the medium of instruction are not accepted.
- Exempt countries: the list includes Canada (except Quebec), the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, among others, but not China.
- The main campus offers English as a Second Language (ESL) courses, with a placement test on arrival.
5. Students at high schools in China
- Submit official transcripts for grades 10–12 and the diploma, with English translations.
- How the Gaokao is used is not published; ask international admissions.
- China is not on the exempt-country list, so TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo or another accepted score is required.
- Whether A-Levels, IB or AP earn credit is not stated on the pages we read; the undergraduate page says AP scores should be sent to transcripts@troy.edu.
6. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC)
- Canada (except Quebec) is on the English exempt-country list.
- How BC grades are reviewed and whether Canadian students follow the international or domestic process are not published; ask international admissions.
7. Transfer students
- The undergraduate admissions page says unconditional transfer admission requires a 2.0 GPA on at least 12 semester hours (excluding developmental and dual-enrollment credit) from regionally accredited institutions, official transcripts from every institution attended, and course-by-course credit evaluation.
- The international page says applicants who have started or completed undergraduate study must also submit those academic documents. Whether international transfers need a third-party evaluation is not stated on the undergraduate pages; ask international admissions.
- TROY offers a free unofficial transfer equivalency report (email transcripts to DMC@troy.edu).
- Conditions for entering computer science are not published.
8. Costs and scholarships
- 2026-2027 international costs: undergraduate tuition USD 746 per credit hour; insurance USD 1,860 a year; meal plans USD 2,190 to 2,266.65 a semester; housing USD 2,530 to 4,490 a semester.
- Undergraduate cost of attendance (13 hours a semester, for the I-20): out-of-state tuition USD 19,864, insurance 1,860, Trojan Book Bag 624, fees 3,250, room 7,000, board 4,456 and supplies 200, for a total of USD 37,254; minus the International Trojan Opportunity scholarship of USD 9,932, the total is USD 27,322.
- International Trojan Opportunity scholarship: for entering international freshman and transfer undergraduates enrolled full-time (at least 12 hours a semester) who meet all admission and English requirements; students in good academic standing at the end of the year can keep it for the next year. The scholarship page says it “will waive the out-of-state tuition cost,” while the cost table shows a USD 9,932 award against out-of-state tuition of USD 19,864. The two differ, so confirm with the Center for International Programs.
- The scholarship page also lists the Chancellor’s Endowed General Scholarship, the International Student Scholarship and the Robert E. and Irene Thagard Lindsey Endowed Scholarship, all applied for through AwardSpring; amounts are not published.
- The C Spire Foundation Scholarship on the program page requires US citizenship and Alabama residency, so international students are not eligible.
Checklist
Students at high schools in China:
- Prepare TOEFL 3.5 (61 on the old scale), IELTS 5.5, Duolingo 95 or another accepted score
- Prepare grade 10–12 transcripts, the diploma (with translations), passport and a bank statement from the last six months
- Ask international admissions about the deadline, the application fee and whether the Gaokao is considered
Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):
- English tests are waived outside Quebec; prepare grade 10–12 transcripts and the diploma
- Ask about the application process and how BC grades are reviewed
Transfer students:
- Prepare official transcripts from every institution; 12 hours with a 2.0 GPA at regionally accredited institutions qualifies for unconditional admission
- Ask the Department of Computer Science about entry to the major and transfer credit
Sources: Troy University, Bachelor of Science in Computer Science; Department of Computer Science; 2025-2026 degree map; International student admission requirements; International tuition and fees; Scholarships and more; Center for International Programs; Undergraduate admission requirements. Costs are 2026-2027 estimates; check Troy University’s website for the latest.